Savannah Adventure: Day 1

12 02 2010
I have a love/hate relationship with daily blogs so I thought I’d do one! Savannah was my lovely home for 3 years (2006-2009) when I attended the Savannah College of Art and Design for a degree in Game Design.

Parking Permit
After a rather quick drive up to Savannah, 3 hours and 40 minutes, my first course of action was renewing my parking permit so I didn’t have to deal with the meters. There was a lady in front of me that was paying off 12 tickets at a cost of $350; ouch!

Condo Arrival
Someone finally removed all the vines on the alley side of the condo; it was starting to become a jungle. There are a couple bikes and a grill in the courtyard so I assume a decent amount of people are living in the other units. It turns out that I did forget to bring something: my belt and my alarm clock; but that’s not a big deal. I’ve had one belt for about 10 years so another one won’t hurt. On my way to Publix, I saw that they finished the Forsyth Park visitor center and cafe that was very eye catching. I plan to take a closer look via unicycle tomorrow. I also found an MMA gym called Redline MMA on I-16 that I’m going to call about.

Blowin Smoke BBQ
I was starving upon arriving in Savannah and unpacked as swiftly as possible so I could get some grub. I decided to take a 5 minute walk to Blowin Smoke. The first time I ate at Blowin Smoke I was truly blown (har har) away. It was a regular off hour meal for me until near the end of my schooling when the quality started to become a bit inconsistent. Thankfully it was absolutely superb tonight and hit the spot. They have a truly unique sauce that is chunky with a definite apple cider flavor behind it. Best pulled pork I’ve ever had. French fries were cooked perfectly; though the onions rings and jalapeno cornbread muffin tasted like they had been sitting around for a little while. One of the better meals I’ve had in a while. I apologize for not having an image of the meal but I didn’t think of taking a picture with my phone. I will do that for all future meals so that you may be jealous.

Condo Problem
On my way to bed I walked across the carpet on the landing by the back door and felt through my sock that it was soaking wet (which was really odd). There’s a weird fungus type thingy growing on the floor and one of the wood slats is starting to rot near the window (see attached picture). My best guess is that rain water has been getting in under the floor to ceiling window. I’ve put the rug in the courtyard to dry, cleaned the floor, and placed a towel there as a temporary fix. Weather.com shows it raining on Friday so I’ll see what happens then.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

